W. John Bennett Distinguished Visiting Scholars

In order to support the teaching and research in medieval studies at the University of Toronto the Centre for Medieval Studies (CMS) and the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies (PIMS) established in 2010 a special visitorship for distinguished scholars in medieval studies.

Current CMS/PIMS Distinguished Visitors

Sabine von Heusinger

v-Heusinger-FotoSabine von Heusinger is a Full Professor of Late Medieval History at the University of Cologne in Germany. In previous years, she was a fellow at Morphomata International Center for Advanced Studies at University of Cologne and a Senior-Research Fellow at the Institute for Advances Studies for Junior Researchers at University of Konstanz.

Her current research focuses on water as a precondition for human life – without water survival is not possible. The topic “water” allows her to dive into numerous aspects of social, cultural and intellectual history in Late Medieval times.

Her main research interests focus on the constitution, the advancement and reform of social groups in the Late Middle Ages on the examples of the Dominican Order as well as guilds in the German Empire. She has published a book on the Dominican Johannes Mulberg and the quarrel over Beguines at Basel including an editon of his “Tractatus contra Beginas et Beghardos” (Johannes Mulberg OP († 1414), Akademie Verlag 2000) and a monograph on Guilds in Late Medieval Times (Die Zunft im Mittelalter, Franz Steiner Verlag 2009). On the occasion of the 800th anniversary of the Dominican Order, she published jointly with Elias H. Fuellenbach OP et alii a collected volume on the latest research on the male and female branches of the Dominican order in the Regnum Teutonicum (Die deutschen Dominikaner und Dominikanerinnen im Mittelalter. De Gruyter 2016). Furthermore, she is interested in new methodological approaches – especially in the “material turn” – and a collected volume on the material culture of towns is in preparation, jointly with the art historian Susanne Wittekind (Boehlau publishing).

Past Distinguished Visitors


Charles Burnett (January-April 2017)


Felix Heinzer (January-April 2015)


Catherine Conybeare (September-December 2014)

Michael Ryan (January-April 2014)

Christopher Martin (September-December 2013)

Stella Panayotova (January-April 2013)

Henrietta Leyser (January-April 2012)

John Marenbon (September-December 2010)