Students

The following list is incomplete, as some students have opted not to share their personal information.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | W | Z

Name Interests
Alexandra (Lexi) Atiya
alexandra.atiya@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Late medieval English drama; Iberian literature
Justin A. Arnwine
justin.arnwine@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD East Syriac history and hagiography from 600–1100 CE
Alla Babushkina
alla.babushkina@utoronto.ca
PhD
Alexandra Bauer
a.bauer@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Depictions of witchcraft in late Anglo-Saxon homilies
Alessia Berardi
alessia.berardi@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval exegesis; 12th-century Paris schools
Jonathan Brent
jonathan.brent@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Anglo-Norman; late medieval historiography; Middle English and French literature
Deanna Brook’s
deanna.brooks@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Old English religious education; 10-11th century intellectual culture; Carolingian and Old English textual transmission
Lochin Brouillard
lochin.brouillard@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Monasticism; gender; the family; kinship; hagiography; female religious life
Samuel Cardwell
samuel.cardwell@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Ideals of mission in north-western Europe c.400–1000
Nathan Chazan
nathan.chazan@mail.utoronto.ca
MA Latin literature; literary reception; manuscript studies
Sr. Parousia Clemens
parousia.clemens@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Liturgical rites for medieval nuns
Amy Conwell
amy.cnwll@gmail.com
PhD Mental disorder; mysticism
Lisa Cruikshank
lisa.cruikshank@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Queenship and representation/self-representation; medievalisms (medieval women in modern media)
Brianna Daigneault
brianna.daigneault@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Early Irish monasticism; Latin and Celtic language/linguistics; Insular literature; unicorn symbolism
Marian Daubioul
marian.daubioul@mail.utoronto.ca
MA
Benjamin George Durham
ben.durham@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Sermons of Peter Comestor; codicology and paleography; theology
Michael Fatigati
michael.fatigati@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Psychology in Greek, Latin, and Arabic philosophy, especially Avicenna’s views on emotions
Alicia Finan PhD
David Foley
david.foley@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD 12th-century cathedral schools (Paris); biblical theology and commentary; manuscript studies, textual criticism, and Latin philology
Anthony J. Fredette
anthony.fredette@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Boethian reception; the relationship between Latin commentary on the auctores and vernacular translation
Emma Gabe
emma.gabe@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Lay sisters and brothers in late medieval German convents
Megan Gilge
m.gilge@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD
Matthew Goodman
matthew.goodman@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Comparison of Old Norse and Latin historical sources; comparison of Old Norse Romance with Old French and Middle English Romance
Geoffrey J. Guth
geoff.guth@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval Spain; legal history
Ryan Hall
ry.hall@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Old English; translation theory
Cai E. M. Henderson
cai.henderson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Late medieval English literature and text technology; cognition and digitality; vernacular English medicine
Jessica Henderson
jess.henderson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD 14th- and 15th-century English medical manuscripts; Middle English medical verse
Walker Horsfall
walker.horsfall@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Science and natural philosophy in medieval German vernacular literature
Lara Howerton
lara.howerton@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Textiles in the medieval Mediterranean; networks of trade (esp. textiles and medical ingredients); material culture; digital humanities
Jared Johnson
jared.johnson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Changes to Latin during Carolingian period; early medieval education
Peter Johnsson
peter.johnsson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Gender and sexuality in Late Antiquity and the early Middle Ages, specifically different masculinities in Merovingian Gaul; early modern German historiography
Olena Karbach
olena.karbach@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Codification of knowledge; manuscript studies; cultural history of Late Middle Ages
Sean Karnani-Stewart
sean.stewart@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Epigraphy in Late Antique/Early Medieval Italy
Shirley Kinney
shirley.kinney@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Late Antique/early medieval medicine
Cameron Laird
cameron.laird@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Anglo-Saxon riddle tradition; Anglo-Latin pedagogical poetry, prosody, and metrical treatises; early Anglo-Saxon glossaries; sources of Old English poetry
Lucas Marincak
lucas.marincak@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval music
Mary Maschio
mary.maschio@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Relations between Old French and Byzantine Greek literature
Jack McCart
jack.mccart@mail.utoronto.ca
MA Economic, social, and environmental history; late medieval mercantile cultures; species introduction
Dylan McConihay Wilkerson
dylan.wilkerson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Latin and Old English glossography; reception of Latin literature in early medieval England; medieval multi-lingualism
Katie Menendez
katie.menendez@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Exegesis and historiography in the early and high Middle Ages
Laura Moncion
laura.moncion@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Women recluses in late medieval towns; gender history; mysticism; monasticism; historiography
Morgan E. Moore
me.moore@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Middle English and Middle Welsh poetry and performance; book history and manuscript studies
Tadhg Morris
tadhg.morris@utoronto.ca
PhD Classical Gaelic bardic poetry; inauguration odes; late medieval Irish kingship
Matthew Orsag
matthew.orsag@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Legal and intellectual history; Lombard legal tradition; Lombard, Frankish, and Ottonian Italy
Francesco Pica
francesco.pica@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval philosophy; Latin textual criticism; John Duns Scotus; concepts; freedom
Eva Plesnik
eva.plesnik@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Latin Petrarchism and classical reception in the late medieval Holy Roman Empire
Sarah Reeser
sarah.reeser@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Geography, vision, and materiality in the late medieval and early modern Atlantic world.
Bridget Riley
bridget.riley@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Cults of Saints, Pilgrimage, Miracle Accounts
Terri Sanderson
terri.sanderson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Old English Literature; Medieval cosmology
Boaz Schuman
boaz.schuman@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval philosophy of language; medieval terminist logic
John Simons
johnfs.simons@alum.utoronto.ca
MA
Lane Springer
lane.springer@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Irish monasticism on the continent; perigrinatio pro Christo; biblical commentaries; paleography and textual criticism
Stephanie Springolo
stephanie.springolo@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval Latin literature; sex and gender; literary criticism and critical theory; palaeography, codicology, and book history
Nora Thorburn
nora.foss@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD 9th century medical/pharmaceutical knowledge/antidotes
Julia Tomlinson
julia.tomlinson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Economic history; popular religion; England, 1200-1500
Zinaida Uzdenskaya
zina.uzdenskaya@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Portable objects, travelling subjects: Iconography of Canterbury pilgrim souvenirs and the development of the Pan-European visual language of medieval pilgrimage
Cameron Wachowich
cameron.wachowich@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Medieval vernaculars, esp. Irish; Alexander legend; editing and editorial theory
Angela Warner
a.warner@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Troubadour love lyric; emotions; medieval French and Occitan literature
Julia Warnes
julia.warnes@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Carolingian intellectual history, early medieval education, the Irish on the continent (7-9th centuries)
Simon Whedbee
simon.whedbee@gmail.com
PhD Latin school commentaries; Ars Grammatica; pre-university education in Northern France
Dylan Wilkerson
dylan.wilkerson@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Old English, Old Norse, Latin
Hannah Wood
hannah.wood@mail.utoronto.ca
PhD Spiritual Franciscan thought in the Wycliffite corpus